My Patron “Saints”

So, I haven’t posted in a while and figured I should, so here’s a short post I’ve been putting off writing.

Coming from a Catholic background, I love patron saints, those people in heaven who you identify with, who you strive to be like as you try to live the Gospel. So I ask myself, who are my Mormon patron saints, or better stated, who are my patron “Saints”. After much thought, I decided on two patron “Saints” that I love and identify with.

George Albert Smith

We all hate to admit it, but there is a President of the Church that each of us gravitates to. I’m not sure if I’d call it a favorite prophet, but one who we identify with or stands out to us more than the others. For me, George Albert Smith is one of those.

My first encounter with the Prophet George Albert Smith was at the Temple Square Visitor’s Center. There is a quote on display from President Smith that reads: “It is not what we receive that enriches our lives, it is what we give.” From that moment I knew I loved George Albert Smith.

Then came the moment of Elder Holland’s October General Conference talk where he said that President Smith battled depression. As someone who has battled depression, and sometimes still, that really touched me. A prophet of God, a leader of God’s Church on earth, struggled with depression. I mean, that says something right there. You can have that struggle and yet find solace and strength in the gospel. Can you imagine the strength our Heavenly Father must have given him to fulfill that vocation? It really did make me realize that God doesn’t call the qualified, He qualifies the called. What a merciful God.

It makes me pray daily for the same strength and comfort given to President Smith. And you know what, if a prophet of God had this same cross, I am in good company and can overcome it too!

Leonard Arrington

OK, I’ll be honest, I don’t know much about this patron, but from what I do know about Leonard Arrington makes me believe that he was a great Latter-day Saint. But why pick him? Arrington was a lover of history, especially Church history, and had made it a personal mission to open up Church records and be honest about Church history. For me personally, history is important and it is important to be honest about Church history. You know, I know a decent amount of Church history for somebody who has only been a member for a year, and you know what? I’m still here. It is possible to know Church history, love Church history and still be a believing Latter-day Saint. Leonard Arrington makes me want to do what he did, research our history, be honest about it, and have it help our faith. If the Church is true, which I believe it is, then nothing can stop it, including its history, skeletons and all.

So, these are my Latter-day Patron Saints! Believe it or not, I’m leaving out quite a few honorable and admirable people we can add to this list.

Leave a Reply

